A new favorite tool, hair tips, & working with Tracee Ellis Ross

Hey Guys! Hope everyone’s summer is going well. As you know, I’m keeping myself very busy these days. I recently had the opportunity to work on a tv pilot in Atlanta for BET Networks starring Tracee Ellis Ross. I love working with Tracee, and because of her I now have a new favorite hair dryer! Tracee recommended the Sedu i4000.  It’s similar to the Velecta i4000 which I also really enjoy using. This hair dryer is short, sleek, and VERY powerful.  I find it very easy to work with. I used it on Tracy per her recommendation and was thrilled with the results.

I’ve had a lot of great feedback from everyone on my Twitter and NEW Facebook page, including a bunch of questions regarding hair care. I thought I would post some of my tips I am most often asked about:

Healthy Hair Care with extensions:

To keep your own hair healthy while wearing extensions, keep the scalp fresh and clean by using a scalp treatment (like KimbleHair Care Systems Scalp Relief).  Detangling shampoos and conditioners (such as Kimble Hair Care Systems Untangle Shampoo and Untangle Conditioner) They will keep the extensions from pulling on your hair.  Silk pillowcases/bonnets are also a great investment as they will help keep your hair and the weave from drying out.

Best way to achieve volume:

There are a few different ways to achieve volume.  One is to blow dry the hair with a round brush, creating volume at the root.  For curly hair, I recommend blow drying using a diffuser.  For straight hair, I recommend applying a setting mousse to the hair (such as Kimble Hair Care Systems setting foam) and then doing a wet set.

And remember:

Using a hot oil treatment once a month encourages healthy hair.

One of the most basic ways to keep your hair healthy is to keep it clean.  Try to wash your hair at least twice a week if you can or at minimum, once.

(All of the Kimblehair products I’ve suggested are available at all Target retail stores.)

Thanks again to all of you that participated in our first ever Twitter gift basket giveaway last month! I’m working on a great new contest idea and details will be on twitter and Facebook very soon. As always, keep in touch and feel free to ask questions or make comments on all of my pages! I look forward to hearing from you.

Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Kim

One thought on “A new favorite tool, hair tips, & working with Tracee Ellis Ross

Leave a Reply

